Interview Transcript about my magazine

Interview Transcript about my cover

This is the transcript for an interview I did with a girl named Becky aged 19 about her thoughts on my magazine cover. I chose to interview her because she is within the target audience for my magazine.

 

Me: What do you like most about my magazine cover?

Becky: I most liked the title of the magazine. I thought it looked very elegant and original and drew my attention straight away.

 

Me: What advice/constructive criticism (if any) would you give me?

Becky: I really liked the magazine cover but I would say maybe the image used on the cover should have higher key lighting so that the model stands out more, rather than the background and over lighting looking distilled.

Me: Oh yeah, I see what you mean; I’ll bear that in mind next time, thank you.

 

Me: What did you think of the pictures of the model I used on the cover?

Becky: I thought they were fantastic, they looked very professional and the model really suited the genre of the magazine as well as her outfit and make-up.

 

Me: How did you feel about the colour scheme I used?

Becky: I thought the colour scheme really worked because it really fits with the gothic and edgy style of the magazine. I especially liked how the colour wasn’t primarily black and white but it had a cool blue tinge to it with the red banner standing out completely.

 

Me: Do you think the magazine name was appropriate and effective?

Becky: I really liked it. Rage sounds quite catchy but assertive and fierce as well, so I thought it really mixed in well with the context of the magazine.

 

Me: What did you think of the celebrities and designers I decided to include on my magazine?

Becky: Well I don’t really like Kristen Stewart but I can see why you chose her because she’s very relevant at the moment and she’s quite quirky and punky. However, I do like all the others especially Lady Gaga. She’s my favourite artist.

Me: Do you think the price I set is too high?

Becky: No, I think its quite reasonable considering similar magazines, and magazines I buy are usually above three pounds sometimes over four pounds.

 

Me: Lastly, if I were to re-create the magazine or design another one, what would you suggest I change or do differently?

Becky: Hmmm, I think that maybe you should include more cover lines or a quote from inside the magazine. Because I know when I buy a magazine, when there’s something interesting a celebrity has said or done and it tells you on the cover it makes me eager to want to know the full story.

 

Me: Great, thank you. One last question, would you buy the magazine?

Yes I would, it includes all the things I love and it’s cheaper than the one I buy at the moment.

 

Me: Ok, well thank you for your feedback. It was nice hearing your compliments and advice.

Becky: No problem, my pleasure.

 

~ by GJTurner on November 29, 2012.

Leave a comment